ZBW MediaTalk

Science Policy at ZBW

The digitization of science influences the whole research cycle. Current research procedures and publishing processes change fundamentally, not least by the participatory web. Through open access to publications and research data the transparency increases further. According to current state of knowledge this will have positive effects. Likewise, the procedures for quality assurance and assessment become transparent. Moreover, monetary aspects are very important: Unnecessary duplication of data collection can be avoided and costs can be saved correspondingly.

The role of ZBW

The ZBW has realized the importance of this topic at an early stage. Meanwhile it pursues own research on Science 2.0 and initiated the Leibniz Research Alliance Science 2.0 – a research based network which enables scientific libraries and research facilities to jointly shape the change of publishing processes and research processes.

As a Leibniz institute and foundation under public law it is a matter of concern for ZBW to incorporate its own experiences and research results into the recommendations for policy and society. Consequently, ZBW is involved in various committees and working groups. Be it with open access strategies on federal state level, with the identification of indicators for the digitization of science on federal level or with the establishment of research infrastructures on European level, ZBW strives to provide expert/scientific contributions to support political decision makers and to hold expert discourses.

With these measures ZBW established itself as a competent contact for political decision makers on international, national and regional level.

 

 

The ZBW Science Policy Team

 

Prof. Klaus Tochtermann
Director ZBW
Leibniz Information Centre for EconomicsKey activities: Knowledge Management and Transfer, Web 2.0, Semantic Technologies, Science 2.0

 

Dr. Willi Scholz
Science Policy Consultant
Leibniz Information Centre for EconomicsKey activities: Knowledge Management and Transfer, Web 2.0, Semantic Technologies, Science 2.0

 

Science Policy: ZBW Memberships

European Commission

]Member of the High-Level Expert Group “European Open Science Cloud” of the European Commission, DG Research, and Innovation

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Member of the ITA-Advisory Board of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, subject area: “Participation in Research and Innovation
 

Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz GWK

Member of the German Council for Scientific Information Infrastructures
 

DFG Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Member of the DFG Committee on Scientific Library Services and Information Systems 

BMWFW

Member of the Strategic Advisory Board of the initiative “Top Citizen Science” of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy (BMWFW) 
 

Get more information at ZBW.eu

ZBW MediaTalk

Die Digitalisierung der Wissenschaft nimmt Einfluss auf den gesamten Forschungszyklus. Bestehende Forschungspraktiken und Publikationsprozesse ändern sich nicht zuletzt durch das partizipatorische Web fundamental. Durch den offenen Zugang zu Publikationen und Forschungsdaten erhöht sich zusätzlich die Transparenz, was nach heutigem Erkenntnisstand positive Auswirkungen haben wird. Auch die Verfahren zur Qualitätssicherung und -bewertung werden transparent. Zudem spielen monetäre Aspekte eine Rolle: Unnötige doppelte Datenerhebungen werden vermieden und entsprechend Kosten gespart.

Die Rolle der ZBW

Die ZBW hat die Bedeutung des Themas früh erkannt, betreibt mittlerweile eigene Forschung zu Science 2.0 und hat den Leibniz-Forschungsverbund Science 2.0 initiiert – ein forschungsbasiertes Netzwerk, in dessen Rahmen wissenschaftliche Bibliotheken und Forschungseinrichtungen gemeinsam den Wandel von Publikations- und Forschungsprozessen gestalten.

Als Leibniz-Institut und öffentlich-rechtliche Stiftung ist es der ZBW ein Anliegen, die eigenen Erfahrungen und Forschungsergebnisse auch in Empfehlungen für Politik und Gesellschaft einfließen zu lassen. So engagiert sich die ZBW in unterschiedlichen Gremien und Arbeitsgruppen. Ob bei Open-Access-Strategien auf Bund-Länder-Ebene, bei der Identifizierung von Indikatoren für die Digitalisierung der Wissenschaft auf Bundesebene oder der Schaffung von Forschungsinfrastrukturen auf europäischer Ebene, ist die ZBW bestrebt, fachliche/wissenschaftliche Beiträge zu liefern, politische Entscheidungsträger zu unterstützen und in einen fachlichen Diskurs zu treten.

 
 

Das Science Policy-Team der ZBW

Prof. Klaus Tochtermann
Direktor
ZBW Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft

Arbeitsschwerpunkte: Knowledge Management and Transfer, Web 2.0, Semantic Technologies, Science 2.0

Dr. Willi Scholz
Wissenschaftspolitische Beratung
ZBW Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft

Arbeitsschwerpunkte: Science Policy, Science 2.0, Informationsinfrastrukturen

 

Die ZBW hat sich als kompetenter Ansprechpartner für politische Entscheidungsträger auf internationaler, nationaler und regionaler Ebene etabliert.

Mitgliedschaften der ZBW

 


Europäische Kommission
High-Level Expert Group “European Open Science Cloud” bei der Europäischen Kommission, DG Research, and Innovation


Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung
ITA-Beraterkreis des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung, Themenfeld: “Partizipation in Forschung und Innovation”


Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz GWK
Mitglied im Rat für Informationsinfrastrukturen


DFG Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
FG-Ausschuss für Wissenschaftliche Bibliotheken und Informationssysteme


BMWFW, Österreich
Strategiebeirat der Förderinitiative “Top Citizen Science” des österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft (BMWFW)

Mehr bei ZBW.eu erfahren

Subscribe to our
Newsletter
Stay up to date and subscribe to the free ZBW MediaTalk newsletter now!
Thank you!
Please check your email inbox now. We've just sent you a mail asking you for a last confirmation.
Subscribe to our
Newsletter
Stay up to date and subscribe to the free ZBW MediaTalk newsletter now!
PGlmcmFtZSBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgc2Nyb2xsaW5nPSJubyIgbWFyZ2luaGVpZ2h0PSIwIiBtYXJnaW53aWR0aD0iMCIgc3JjPSJodHRwczovL2FwcC5tYWlsamV0LmNvbS93aWRnZXQvaWZyYW1lLzJlUDMvMkZEIiB3aWR0aD0iMzAwIiBoZWlnaHQ9IjUwIj48L2lmcmFtZT4=